Independent Wholesale Mortgage Broker  


Discount Pricing  (707) 888-1464

Vashon Mortgage LLC  &  Collen & Associates

FHA Loans

An FHA loan, or Federal Housing Administration loan, is a mortgage loan program backed by the U.S. Federal Housing Administration. FHA loans are designed to make homeownership more accessible to a broader range of borrowers, including those with lower credit scores and smaller down payments. Here are the key features and aspects of FHA loans:

  1. Low Down Payment: One of the most prominent features of FHA loans is their low down payment requirement. Borrowers can typically put down as little as 3.5% of the home’s purchase price. This is significantly lower than the standard 20% down payment required for conventional loans.

  2. Government Backing: FHA loans are insured by the Federal Housing Administration, which means that if the borrower defaults on the loan, the FHA will reimburse the lender for a portion of the losses. This government backing reduces the risk for lenders, making it easier for borrowers to qualify for the loan.

  3. Flexible Credit Requirements: FHA loans are known for their more flexible credit score requirements compared to conventional loans. Borrowers with lower credit scores may still be eligible for FHA financing, although the specific credit score requirements can vary among lenders.

  4. Competitive Interest Rates: FHA loans often offer competitive interest rates, making them an attractive option for many borrowers.

  5. Fixed and Adjustable Rates: FHA loans are available with both fixed-rate and adjustable-rate options, allowing borrowers to choose the type of interest rate that suits their needs and preferences.

  6. Mortgage Insurance: FHA loans require mortgage insurance premiums (MIP) to protect the lender against the risk of borrower default. There is an upfront MIP payment, which can be rolled into the loan amount, and an annual MIP that is typically paid monthly as part of the mortgage payment. The annual MIP can vary based on the loan amount and term.

  7. Assumable Loans: In some cases, FHA loans are assumable, meaning that a qualified buyer can take over the existing FHA loan when purchasing a home. This can be advantageous when selling a property, as it can make it more attractive to potential buyers.

  8. Property Standards: FHA loans have specific property standards that the home must meet. These standards are designed to ensure that the property is safe, habitable, and structurally sound. The FHA appraisal process assesses whether the property meets these standards.

  9. Usage Restrictions: FHA loans are typically intended for owner-occupied primary residences and cannot be used to finance investment properties or second homes.

  10. Loan Limits: FHA loan limits are set by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and vary by location. Borrowers should check the FHA loan limits in their area to determine the maximum loan amount they can qualify for.

FHA loans can be a valuable option for first-time homebuyers and borrowers with limited down payment savings or lower credit scores. However, it’s essential to consider the additional cost of mortgage insurance when evaluating the affordability of an FHA loan. Borrowers should also work with FHA-approved lenders to navigate the application process and understand the specific terms and requirements associated with these loans.

Vashon Mortgage – NMLS #2431410  &  Collen & Associates CA DRE #01452367

(c) 2022 – All rights reserved

Randal Collen    MLO #2386273  &  DRE #01452367

PO Box 452, Vashon WA 98070  (707) 888-1464     Privacy Policy